I have not posted in months so here goes!

The appointment with the new pain management doctor ended up being a turning point in my life thus far. Within five minutes of his physical exam he had diagnosed me with sacroiliitis through just a few simple range of motion exams. Sacroiliitis is essentially an inflammation in the joint where the ilium of the pelvis meets the sacrum (low low back.) This likely happened when a patient fell taking me down with her and hanging me over a walker while she grasped onto me for dear life. Dr. Brian Weaver with Southeast Pain Care has truly been a blessing to my life. We went through 3 separate steroid injections into that joint with no real pain relief once the numbing meds wore off. This took about two months to complete the series and then the first week of March I had a radio-frequency ablation procedure done on that joint. Basically he placed four giant needles into the joint, finding all four pain pathway nerves and then burned holes in them. The first week after the procedure I was devastated thinking that it didn’t work, but slowly I am getting much better. I have not been using hardly any of my pain medications and I am only having significant pain 2-3 days a week. For me.. This is huge.

I have been promoted to Staff Development Coordinator/Infection Control Nurse at my job. This came with a nice pay raise and I am really enjoying my new job. I love teaching and I have a lot of clinical experience that I am able to share with the nurses who work in my building. Many of them have been in long term care their whole lives and have never really sharpened their critical thinking or clinical skills. I love what I am doing and I hope to continue to do well.

With the promotion comes the ability to finally find a place to live for my son and I. We are moving into a beautiful 3 bedroom apartment this Friday. My mother is taking it unbearably hard and has somehow decided I am punishing her and taking her grandson away from her. This is absolutely not true but there is no reasoning at this point so I will do my best to keep my spirits up about our new home.

It’s softball season again and I have been having an absolute blast playing again. I have spent darn near every weekend at the fields for the last month.. Whether it be playing coed myself or watching a certain someone play. I’m really enjoying spending time with him as well, although I am completely terrified of getting hurt. I think that’s normal for someone who has not had a relationship in a very long time (just dating.) I haven’t made myself vulnerable in a very long time (protective mechanism??) and I am trying to let myself be vulnerable for the chance at happiness… And I’m quite happy right now 🙂

These last few years have been a series of very difficult times and a lot of physical pain but lately I have been granted many blessings and I am thankful for the chance to continue to grow as a person, a mother, a nurse, and a friend. I am hopeful that things will continue along the path I have found myself on.

“Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.” ~Audrey Hepburn

